By New Hampshire state law, anyone planning to buy a hunting, archery or trapping license must complete the hunter education or trapper education course, or show a previously issued license of the same type. Fish and Game offers classes from January through October. Register early to ensure you can get in.
Pre-registration is required for all Hunter and Trapper education courses. When you register online, you will be asked to create an online profile with a username and password. Please remember your username and password as you will need it for any future hunter education registrations or to log back in for checking course information and certification documents.
Both versions of the hunter education course provide double certification for rifle hunting and archery.
If you are looking for more advanced hunting skills or are just learning about hunting and the wide variety of skills used to hunt in New Hampshire check out the workshop opportunities at our Owl Brook Hunter Education Center.
***NOTE: There are no open courses for the remainder of 2016. Please check back in January 2017 for new course offerings.***
Find a Hunter Education Course - Classroom setting with certified instructors and a 15 hour minimum length. These are held all over the state and vary in number of days. Please use the online registration process to locate a course near you. There may be a $5 fee to help defray instructor costs.
Online Hunter Education course with Field Day: An online course that you can take at your own pace. You must be 15 years or older to register. There is a $29.00 fee for taking this course. You must take a test and pass the online portion in order to qualify for taking the required 5 hour Field day. Upon passing the online test you will be mailed a link to access the list and locations of Field days available. You must register for the field day in addition to the online course. There may be a $5 fee to help defray instructor costs.
Trapper Education teaches participants how to responsibly trap furbearing animals. This course is also required to become a licensed Wildlife Control Officer. This course is generally 8 hours in length and covers trapping laws safety and best practices for trapping. These courses are offered around the state. If there is no course currently listed please call the hunter education office (603) 271-3212 to check on next the available course.
- Courses are generally available year-round, but our peak season is April through September. If you cannot find a course that meets your needs, check back frequently. This site is updated as new courses are scheduled.
Today's hunters are going into the field knowing how to hunt safely, responsibly and ethically. Coupled with the voluntary use of hunter orange clothing, Hunter Education has dramatically helped to reduce the number of hunting-related firearms incidents in the field.
About the Hunter Education Curriculum
Hunter Education emphasizes safe gun handling, hunter responsibilities, ethics, and knowledge of firearms and ammunition. Students participate in a live fire exercise; learn about wildlife identification, conservation and wildlife management. In addition, Conservation Officers provide expert advice on New Hampshire hunting rules and regulations as part of the class. The course culminates in a written examination and practical field exam in which students demonstrate their new knowledge and skills to earn certification. Bowhunter education is incorporated and covers the core concepts of ethics, wildlife conservation, identification and management, rules and regulations, bowhunting safety, archery equipment, tree-stand safety and proper shot placement. Students must also pass a written test to earn certification.
- If you completed hunter education prior to June 1, 2016 contact the hunter education office at (603) 271-3212.
- If you completed hunter education after June 1, 2016 login with the same username and password used to register for the course
- Select the "my events" link
- Find the hunter education course in which you were enrolled; there will be a print certificate button.
Wildlife Sport Fish Restoration Program:
Keeping our wildlife and our traditions healthy
Your purchase of fishing tackle, firearms, ammunition, archery equipment and motorboat fuels, along with license sales, helps fund sport fish and wildlife restoration in New Hampshire. This provides opportunities for hunting, fishing and other wildlife-associated recreation. Learn more...
Contact the Hunter Education Program at (603) 271-3212 or by email at:
Pursuant to RSA 159:3 and RSA 625:11,V: Anyone convicted of a felony is not eligible to attend a Hunter Education Course. This includes the traditional class, online Field days, and any workshops where firearms, archery equipment or knives are utilized for educational purposes. This does not include Trapper Education.