Thank you for visiting the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department website. www.wildlife.state.nh.us NH Fish and Game

 

 

Learn to Fish: Let's Go Fishing!

 

Video from Fish Camp Week 2016 at
Barry Conservation Camp

The Let's Go Fishing Program facilitates angler education classes that teach basic ecological concepts, introductory fishing skills, and new ways to enjoy the outdoors.

 

Classes are designed primarily for first time anglers, age eight and older. They range from four to twelve hours, depending on discipline, and are taught statewide, year round, by trained volunteer instructors.

 

Classes are offered in the following disciplines:

(select a tab to read more)

Basic Fishing

In the basic fishing course you will explore the skills and equipment needed and resources available to you to start your journey to becoming an angler. Topics covered in this course include basic rods and reels, safety, knot tying, fish identification, ethics, rules and regulations, and aquatic ecology. After completing a classroom session you'll get the chance to put your new skills to the test; you'll head out to a local pond and do some fishing!

  • Age Restrictions: 8 and over; individuals 14 and under must be accompanied by an adult
  • Classroom Time: 4 to 6 hours
  • Fieldtrip: 2 to 4 hours
Ice Fishing

Ice fishing is a recreational activity the whole family can enjoy. This introductory course will cover tip ups and other ice fishing equipment, ice safety, knot tying, fish identification, ethics, rules and regulations, and basic winter ecology. After completing a classroom session you'll head out on the ice and put your newly learned skills to the test.

  • Age Restrictions: 8 and over; individuals 14 and under must be accompanied by an adult
  • Classroom Time: 4 to 6 hours
  • Fieldtrip: 2 to 4 hours
Fly Fishing

Designed primarily for first-time fly-anglers, this course will cover the basics of the fly rod and reel, fly casting, pond and stream ecology, matching the hatch (identifying what fly to use when), knot tying, fish identification, ethics, rules and regulations, and safety.

  • Age Restrictions: 13 and over; individuals 14 and under must be accompanied by an adult
  • Classroom Time: 8 to 10 hours
  • Fieldtrip: 3 to 4 hours
Fly Tying

While learning to tie several fly patterns, participants will be taught about the basic equipment and materials necessary to tie flies. Common patterns and what they imitate will be covered. Your instructors will also discuss insect anatomy and why a particular fly is used.

  • Age Restrictions: 13 and over; individuals 14 and under must be accompanied by an adult
  • Classroom Time: 12 hours; shorter sessions can be scheduled.

 

NOTE: All equipment and materials are provided. A fishing license is not required to participate, when fishing during designated fieldtrip hours.

 

For more information, call (603) 271-3212 weekdays 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, or email aquatic-ed@wildlife.nh.gov.

 

section

Sport fish restoration logo

 

The Let's Go Fishing program is federally funded through the Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Act. Learn more...

section

ARE ProgramNew Hampshire Fish and Game's Aquatic Resources Education (ARE) program consists of two main parts that teach aquatic ecology, aquatic resources management, and angler education to various audiences. The Watershed Education program targets middle and high school teachers, while the Let's Go Fishing program provides full-length courses and shorter clinics to public audiences and also reaches schools (grades 5-12).

 

Hooked, NH Wildlife Journal

Read "Hooked" PDF Document a story about a Let's Go Fishing student's experience with the program in NH Wildlife Journal magazine.

 

become an instructor

 

Interested in setting up a program for your group or organizations?

 

  • On average, classes are scheduled 3 months in advance. So, the earlier you call to make a reservation the better.
  • Priority is given on a first come first serve basis.
  • No class will be scheduled with 30 or less days notice.
  • There is an 8 person minimum.
  • Each group, organization, or school is responsible for their own transportation to and from off site locations.
  • Please be aware that all programs are dependent upon volunteer instructor availability and subject to cancelation if no instructors are available.
  • Complete and return the Program Request Form PDF Document