Capt. John Wimsatt: 603-271-3129
Jane Vachon: 603-271-3211
May 15, 2012
Coming Soon: Limited All-Terrain Vehicle Reciprocity with Vermont
CONCORD, N.H. – All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV) enthusiasts in New Hampshire and Vermont will soon be able to enjoy limited ATV reciprocity between the two states.
During 2012 and 2013, from May 23 through December 1, ATVs that are properly registered in Vermont may be operated in New Hampshire on state ATV trails without being required to obtain a New Hampshire Off-Highway Recreational Vehicle (OHRV) registration.
Likewise, properly registered New Hampshire ATVs may operate in Vermont on approved ATV trails during the May 23 to December 1 time period without the requirement to purchase a state of Vermont registration, however a Vermont All Terrain Vehicle Sportsmen Association (VASA) trail pass is required on VASA trails, as well as proof of having completed an approved ATV safety class for operators under 18 years of age.
This rule includes a two-year sunset provision and will end on December 1, 2013.
Vermont ATV enthusiasts riding in New Hampshire must follow all applicable laws and rules governing operation, include youth operation requirements, spark arrestors, exhaust requirements, etc. Any operator 12 years of age and over must show proof of an approved safety education class or possess a valid motor vehicle driver's license.
An ATV is defined as any motor-driven vehicle which has one or more low-pressure tires (less than 10 pounds per square inch), weighing less than 1,000 pounds and not exceeding 50 inches in width. Therefore, operation of side-by-side utility vehicles (UTVs) and trail bikes is not included in this new rule. These vehicles must be properly registered in New Hampshire to ride here, and may only ride in approved areas.
- ### -