Tom Flynn: (603) 536-1290
Jane Vachon: (603) 271-3211
Lisa Collins: (603) 271-3212
March 2, 2012
Women-only Hunter Education Course Offered
CONCORD, N.H. -- Women interested in taking Hunter Education in the company of other women can now sign up for a special Women-only Hunter Education Course offered by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department. The course involves self-paced online study and an online exam, plus a Field Day on July 21, 2012, in Holderness, N.H. Participants must be 15 years of age or older.
“This is an opportunity for women to learn the New Hampshire hunting laws and regulations, firearms handling, how to use a map and compass, and how to enjoy hunting safely so they can challenge themselves in the great outdoors this fall,” said Tom Flynn, manager of Fish and Game's Owl Brook Hunter Education Center. Women are welcome to participate in traditional Hunter Education courses and field days, Flynn explained; the special course simply offers an alternative.
There are two required parts to the Women-only Hunter Education Course; you must successfully complete both to receive certification:
1. First, take as long as you'd like to study and complete the online Hunter Education Course at www.hunter-ed.com/newhampshire/index.html, then take the online exam (there is a $15 fee to take the exam). You must pass the online exam in order to print out the Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate, which you will need to gain entry to the Women-Only Field Day.
2. After passing the online exam, register for the July 21, 2012, Women-Only Field Day at www.huntnh.com/hunting/hunter_ed.htm. There is no charge for this Field Day. (Remember -- you can't sign up for the Field Day until you pass the online course exam.) The Women-only Field Day will be held at the Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness, N.H., and includes both written and field exams. A New Hampshire Conservation Officer goes over N.H. hunting laws and regulations, followed by a brief review and written exam. Women also participate in a firearms-handling session, a map and compass lesson and a live-fire course, capped off by a field exam. After the successful completion of the exams, you will be a certified hunter, ready to buy a license and enjoy a great hunting season.
To learn more about Hunter Education in New Hampshire, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed.htm.
Hunter education is made possible by the federal Wildlife Restoration Program, now in its 75th year. Excise taxes are collected from the sales of firearms, ammunition and archery equipment, and these funds are distributed to state agencies to conduct research, manage wildlife populations, protect habitat and conduct hunter education programs. Visit www.WSFR75.com.
- ### -