Glenn Normandeau: 603-271-3511
Judy Stokes: 603-271-3211
June 29, 2011
N.H. Saltwater Recreational Fishing License Fee Changes to $11 as of July 1
CONCORD, N.H. -- As of July 1, 2011, the fee saltwater anglers pay to get a N.H. Saltwater Recreational Fishing License will be $11. The mid-year change results from Legislative action carried out by the recently passed budget bill (House Bill 2), which sets the license cost at $10; the standard $1 agent fee brings the total cost to $11.
Since January 1, 2011, saltwater anglers in New Hampshire have paid $16 for the saltwater fishing license, which is required for individuals recreational anglers and spearfishers to take, possess, or transport finfish from coastal and estuarine waters of the state. The new license was established through legislation passed in 2009. It replaced the National Saltwater Angler Registry, helping to ensure the long-term sustainability of saltwater fishing. Funds from license sales stay in New Hampshire, helping the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department manage fish, wildlife and marine resources.
N.H. Fish and Game had requested that any legislatively mandated fee reduction not take place until the start of the new license year on January 1, however, an omission in the law made the change effective on July 1. No refunds can be made to persons who have already purchased the 2011 license at the current price, per the Attorney General.
The license fee reduction will mean less revenue available to the N.H. Fish and Game Department, a self-supported agency. "It's expected that the $5 drop in the license fee will reduce Fish and Game's revenue by $250,000 per year," said Executive Director Glenn Normandeau.
What that means for the agency is not yet clear. "We'll have to adjust our budget to accommodate the loss of revenue, but no decisions have been made as to how we'll do that, pending final status of the Fish and Game fund at the end of the fiscal year," Normandeau said.
Buy a Fish and Game license or permit at www.nhfishandgame.com.
- ### -