Tom Flynn: (603) 536-1290
Jane Vachon: (603) 271-3211
Lisa Collins: (603) 271-3212
August 26, 2010
Women-only Hunter Education Course Offered
CONCORD, N.H. -- Women who want to take Hunter Education can sign up for a special Women-only Hunter Education Course offered by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department this fall. The course entails self-paced online study and an online exam, plus a Field Day on October 3, 2010, in Holderness, N.H. Participants must be 15 years of age or older, and there is a $15 charge for the online exam.
“This is a great opportunity for women to learn the New Hampshire hunting laws and regulations, firearms handling, how to use a map and compass, and how to enjoy hunting safely so they can challenge themselves in the great outdoors this fall,” said Tom Flynn, manager of Fish and Game's Owl Brook Hunter Education Center.
There are two required parts to the Women-only Hunter Education Course; you must successfully complete both to receive certification:
1. First, complete the online Hunter Education Course at www.hunter-ed.com/nh, then take the online exam (there is a $15 fee). You must pass the online exam in order to print out the Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate, which you will need to gain entry to the Women-Only Field Day.
2. After passing the online exam, register for the October 3, 2010, Women-Only Field Day at www.huntnh.com/hunting/hunter_ed.htm. There is no charge for this Field Day. (Note that you can't sign up for the Field Day until you pass the online course exam.) The Women-only Field Day will be held at the Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness, N.H., and includes both written and field exams. There will be a presentation of hunting laws and regulations by a New Hampshire Conservation Officer, followed by a brief review and written exam. Women also will participate in a firearms-handling session, a map and compass lesson and a live-fire course, capped off by a field exam. After the successful completion of the exams, you will be a certified hunter, ready to buy a license and enjoy a great hunting season.
Fish and Game has offered Women-only Hunter Education courses annually for several years. Women may also opt for traditional hunter education courses offered by Fish and Game, or other Field Days.
To learn more about Hunter Education in New Hampshire, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed.htm.
Hunter education is made possible by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act. Excise taxes are collected from the sales of firearms, ammunition and archery equipment. These funds are distributed to state agencies to conduct research, manage wildlife populations, protect habitat and conduct hunter education programs.
- ### -