Sue Perry: (603) 271-2743
Jane Vachon: (603) 271-3211
December 17, 2009
2010 N.H. Fishing and Hunting Licenses Now Available
CONCORD, N.H. -- As of today, you can buy your New Hampshire fishing and hunting licenses for 2010. Get yours and be set for a WILD year of outdoor adventure, from ice fishing this winter to bagging your deer next fall. Licenses are good for the calendar year, from January 1 through December 31, 2010. Purchase online at www.WildNH.com, at Fish and Game headquarters in Concord or from more than 250 license agents statewide.
Your hunting or fishing license -- or, best of all, your “combo” license -- is your year-round ticket to New Hampshire’s great outdoors. For state residents, an annual fishing license is $35; the basic hunting license is $24.50; and a combination (hunting and fishing) license is $48.50. For nonresidents, annual fishing licenses are $53; hunting licenses, $105.50; and the combo license is $143.50. Residents can buy a one-day fishing license for $10. Nonresidents can opt for one-, three- or seven-day fishing licenses.
There are just two fee changes for 2010, affecting the pheasant license and an Internet transaction fee. For 2010, pheasant hunting licenses are $26 for both residents and nonresidents (previously $16). This fee increase was recommended with the input of hunters and was necessary to ensure that the same number of pheasants can be stocked.
Those buying 2010 licenses online will be charged a $3 Internet transaction fee, similar to fees incurred with online purchases of tickets or campsites. This fee offsets the cost of maintaining the online licensing site. The Internet transaction fee will not apply to over-the-counter purchases at local license agents or Fish and Game headquarters.
“Online license purchasers may wish to consider buying all their 2010 licenses in one transaction, rather than at different times during the year, to avoid multiple transaction fees,” said Fish and Game Licensing Supervisor Sue Perry.
As of December 16, 2009 licenses will not be available through the online purchasing site, however, they may still be bought at license agents or Fish and Game headquarters.
When you get your license, pick up a copy of the new 2010 New Hampshire Freshwater Fishing Digest, hot off the press and also available online at www.fishnh.com. You’ll find fishing rules, color photos for identifying fish and much more. The Digest has a whole new look this year – bigger, brighter and more readable. Additional advertising support makes the new format more cost-effective for Fish and Game.
For hunters and anglers concerned about maintaining access to pursue their sports, the $10 Wildlife Legacy donation (a check-off on the multiform license) provides an opportunity to support Fish and Game’s Landowner Relations Program, which works in partnership with hunters, anglers and landowners to maintain hunting and fishing access to private lands. Learn more at www.wildnh.com/Inside_FandG/Wildlife_Legacy_Initiative.htm.
Fishing and hunting license fees directly support wildlife and fisheries management, law enforcement and conservation education in New Hampshire. The only Fish and Game Department program that receives any General Fund support is the Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Program, which gets a small matching grant from the state. Therefore, license sales are critical to support the programs and management people have come to expect. For a link to online license sales and a list of local license agents, visit New Hampshire Fish and Game’s website at www.wildnh.com.
- ### -