Tom Flynn: (603) 536-1290
Jane Vachon: (603) 271-3211
Lisa Collins: (603) 271-3212
August 10, 2009
Women-only Hunter Education Course Offered
CONCORD, N.H. -- Women who want to take Hunter Education and prefer learning in the company of other women can take advantage of a special Women-only Hunter Education Course offered by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department this fall. The course entails self-paced online study, a written exam and a field day in Holderness, N.H. There is a $15 fee. Participants must be 15 years of age or older.
"This course is a great opportunity for women with busy schedules to learn the New Hampshire hunting laws and regulations, firearms handling, how to use a map and compass, and how to enjoy hunting safely so they can challenge themselves in the great outdoors this fall," said Owl Brook Hunter Education Center Manager Tom Flynn.
There are two required parts to the Women-only Hunter Education Course; you must successfully complete both to receive certification:
1. First, complete the study portion online at your own pace, in the comfort of your home, town library or computer lab. The course may be completed by studying a few hours a day over a couple of weeks, or in a few days of more intensive study. When you are ready, take the online exam. There is a fee of $15.
2. After passing the online exam, register for the Women-Only Field Day by the September 28, 2009, deadline by calling Lisa Collins at the Hunter Education office at 603-271-3214. The Women-only Field Day will be held on October 4, 2009, at the Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness, N.H. The Field Day includes both written and field exams. There is a presentation of hunting laws and regulations by a New Hampshire Conservation Officer, followed by a brief review and written exam. Students also participate in a firearms-handling session, a map and compass lesson and a live-fire course, capped off by a field exam. After the successful completion of the exams, you will be a certified hunter, ready to buy a license and enjoy a great hunting season.
To get started, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed.htm to access study materials and complete the online part of the course.
Fish and Game has offered Women-only Hunter Education courses annually for about 6 years. Women may also opt for traditional hunter education courses offered by Fish and Game, or other Field Days. For a full listing of traditional Hunter, Bowhunter and Trapper Education courses offered by Fish and Game, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed_schedule.htm.
To learn more about Hunter Education in New Hampshire, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed.htm. Hunter education is made possible by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Act. Excise taxes are collected from the sales of firearms, ammunition and archery equipment. These funds are distributed to state agencies to conduct research, manage wildlife populations, protect habitat and conduct hunter education programs.
- ### -