Pete Davison, Hunter Ed Coordinator: (603) 271-3214
Lisa Collins, Hunter Ed Secretary: (603) 271-3214
Jane Vachon: (603) 271-3211
June 30, 2009
Sign Up for Hunter Education this Summer
CONCORD, N.H. -- The summer months are prime time for getting in a hunter education class. "This is the busy season for Hunter Education. If you need a course, don't put it off, if you want to go hunting this fall! " said Pete Davison, Hunter Education Coordinator for the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department.
In New Hampshire, you must complete a hunter education course before you can purchase your first hunting license and go hunting. Those 16 years and older need a license to hunt in New Hampshire. The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department offers Hunter and Bowhunter Education classes around the state, as well as Trapper Education. To find a class, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed_schedule.htm or call (603) 271-3214.
The basic Hunter Education course averages about 16 hours of classroom instruction and field experiences, including live fire on a shooting range. Courses are taught by trained, certified volunteer instructors according to national guidelines and state standards. They cover safe firearms handling; wildlife identification; game trailing, recovery and care; hunter ethics; outdoor safety and survival skills; hunting laws; and map and compass skills. Each class concludes with a written test and practical field exam. If successful, students receive their hunter certification card at the end of the course.
Hunter Education instruction and course materials are provided free of charge; instructors may charge up to $5 per student to cover the use of facilities. To receive a certificate of completion in basic Hunter Education or Bowhunter Education, participants must be at least 12 years old by the end of the course.
In addition to traditional classes, Fish and Game offers a home-study option for completing the Hunter Education requirement. This option takes about the same amount of time as a classroom
course, but preparation is done at home, then participants attend a required field day involving a written exam and field skills testing. There are specific deadlines for signing up for the home study option, and space is limited. For successful completion of the home-study course, participants must be at least 15 years old. For a list of home study sessions, or visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed_homestudy.htm or call (603) 271-3214.
More than 3,500 people participate in hunter education each year in New Hampshire, taking classes in basic Hunter, Bowhunter and Trapper education taught by more than 550 trained volunteer instructors. About half of the classes for 2009 have already been completed, so don't wait if you need one; sign up soon!
"Over the years, New Hampshire's Hunter Education Program -- coupled with the voluntary use of blaze-orange clothing -- has dramatically reduced the number of hunting-related firearms incidents in the field," said Davison.
Hunter Education courses provided by Fish and Game are funded by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.
For more information on hunter education in New Hampshire, visit www.huntnh.com/Hunting/hunter_ed.htm.