Tom Flynn, Hunter Ed Coordinator: (603) 271-3214
Lisa Collins, Hunter Ed Secretary, (603) 271-3214
Jane Vachon, Media Liaison, (603) 271-3211
February 23, 2007
Hunter Education - Always in Season
CONCORD, N.H. -- The next few months are a great time to get in a hunter education class, which is required for all first-time New Hampshire hunters age 16 and older. Sign up now for one of many Hunter Education, Bowhunter Education or Trapper Education classes currently listed at the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department website at www.wildlife.state.nh.us/Hunting/hunter_ed_schedule.htm (click to visit), or call (603) 271-3214.
New Hampshire law requires all hunters who purchase a hunting license to show either a previous hunting license (from any state), or a Hunter Education certification card.
"Don't put it off. Most hunter education classes are offered now through the spring and summer months. By getting your hunter education class out of the way early, you'll have more time to spend preparing for this fall's hunting season by scouting, practicing your marksmanship skills, and booking accommodations for that dream hunt!" said Tom Flynn, Hunter Education Coordinator for N.H. Fish and Game.
March and April classes are especially helpful for new hunters interested in taking part in the spring gobbler season, which runs from May 3 through May 31 in New Hampshire. The 2007 Youth Turkey Hunting Weekend is set for April 28 and 29. Only youth age 15 and younger may hunt on the youth weekend; they must hold a turkey permit and be accompanied by an adult with a valid New Hampshire hunting license.
Hunter Education and Bowhunter Education classes are open to all ages; participants must be at least 12 years of age by the end of the course to be eligible for certification. "It's a good idea to get kids into a class at a young age, before they get caught up in other activities of youth," adds Sean Williamson, who manages Fish and Game's Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness.
Another option for meeting the hunter education requirement, available for those 15 and older, is studying at home. Participants in the home study option do the coursework on their own, then attend a required field day involving a written exam and field skills testing. Note that there are specific registration dates for home study, and space is limited. Click here for signup deadlines and locations of field exam for available home study sessions.
Each year, Fish and Game holds about 130 classes for basic hunter, bowhunter and trapper education at fish and game clubs, camps and other facilities around the state, taught by more than 550 trained volunteer instructors. More than 3,000 people participate in these courses in New Hampshire each year.
The basic Hunter Education course includes about 16 hours of instruction, consisting of classroom work and field experiences, often including firing on a shooting range. Courses are taught by trained, certified volunteer instructors according to national guidelines and state standards. Participants learn about safe firearms handling; wildlife identification; game trailing, recovery and care; hunter ethics and responsibility; outdoor safety and survival skills; and map and compass skills.
Hunter Education instruction and course materials are provided free of charge. Some classes may charge a nominal facilities fee, up to a $5 maximum. Fish and Game's Hunter Education courses are funded by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.