Tom Flynn: (603) 271-3214
Liza Poinier: (603) 271-3211
October 14, 2005
Hunter Ed "Procrastinators Class" -- Oct. 26-31 in Concord
CONCORD, N.H. -- Would-be hunters: Don't dawdle! You can still squeeze in a Hunter Education course and get licensed to hunt this fall in New Hampshire. A Hunter Ed Procrastinators Class has been scheduled for late October (Oct. 26, 7 - 9 p.m.; Oct. 29, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.; and Oct 30, 8 a.m. - noon) at New Hampshire Fish and Game's office on Hazen Drive in Concord. To pre-register, call Lisa Collins at (603) 271-3214.
Most Hunter Education classes are held in spring and summer. But every year, some people who intended to take Hunter Education don't sign up in time. "This class is just for them," said Thomas Flynn, a Hunter Education Coordinator for Fish and Game. "We have a great team of Hunter Ed instructors who didn't want anyone to miss a chance to go hunting this fall, so they volunteered to teach the class once more this season." Flynn noted that the special 15-hour Procrastinators Class is identical to a regular Hunter Education course. The class will be offered on a first-come, first-served basis, and the number of students is limited. Participants must be at least 12 years old by the end of the course. One additional late-season course is being held in Jaffrey, November 4 - 6; CLICK HERE for details.
The Hunter Education course consists of classroom instruction in safe firearms handling; wildlife identification; game trailing, recovery and care; hunter ethics and responsibility; outdoor safety and survival skills; and map and compass skills. The course will be taught by trained, certified volunteer instructors according to national guidelines and state standards. Laws and regulations will be covered by a local Conservation Officer.
There is a $2 fee to take the course. Hunter Education instruction and course materials will be provided on the first night of class. Those who attend the full course and pass the written and field exams given on the last day will receive a certificate of completion, which entitles them to purchase a hunting license in New Hampshire or any other U.S. state, or any Canadian province.
Hunter Education courses provided by Fish and Game are funded by hunters through the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program. For more information on hunter education in New Hampshire, CLICK HERE or call (603) 271-3214.
- ### -