Jane Vachon, Media Liaison, (603) 271-3211
Lisa Collins, Hunter Ed Secretary, (603) 271-3214
Tom Flynn, Hunter Ed Coordinator: (603) 271-3214
July 5, 2005
Sign Up for Hunter Education
CONCORD, N.H. -- With fall hunting seasons not far off, this is prime time to get in a hunter education class if you need one. If you're looking to purchase your first hunting license in New Hampshire, you are required to complete a hunter education course before you hunt. The New Hampshire Fish and Game Department offers hunter and bowhunter education classes around the state. Trapper education is also offered. To find a class near you, click here, or call (603) 271-3214.
"Most of our hunter education classes are scheduled in the summer through early fall, so this is your chance to sign up and complete a course," said Thomas Flynn, a Hunter Education Coordinator for Fish and Game. "Don't put it off. People who wait until fall may end up being disappointed if they can't get into a class and then miss the fall hunting seasons."
The basic Hunter Education course averages about 16 hours, consisting of classroom instruction and field experiences, often including firing on a shooting range. Each course is taught by trained, certified volunteer instructors according to national guidelines and state standards. The course covers safe firearms handling; wildlife identification; game trailing, recovery and care; hunter ethics and responsibility; outdoor safety and survival skills; and map and compass skills. Laws and regulations are covered by a local Conservation Officer.
Each year, New Hampshire Fish and Game holds about
130 classes for basic hunter, bowhunter and trapper education at fish
and game clubs, camps and other facilities around the state, taught by
more than 550 trained volunteer instructors. More than 3,000 people participate
in these courses each year.
Hunter Education instruction and course materials are provided free of charge. Some classes may charge a nominal fee, up to a $2 maximum, to cover the use of facilities. To receive a certificate of completion in basic hunter education or bowhunter education, participants must be at least 12 years old by the end of the course.
"Over the years, New Hampshire's Hunter Education Program -- coupled with the voluntary use of blaze-orange clothing -- has dramatically reduced the number of hunting-related firearms incidents in the field," said Flynn.
Fish and Game also offers a home-study option for completing the hunter education requirement, which takes about the same amount of time as a classroom course. Classwork and preparation are done at home, then participants attend a required field day involving a written exam and field skills testing. There are specific registration deadlines for the home study option, and space is limited. Click here for home study option availability and location of field testing for various sessions.
Hunter Education courses provided by Fish and Game are funded by the Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration Program.
If you've previously held a hunting license in 2000 or later, you can purchase New Hampshire hunting licenses and permits online; click here for online license sales. Licenses are also sold by Fish and Game agents throughout the state.
For more information on hunter education in New Hampshire, click here, or call (603) 271-3214.
A User-Pay, User-Benefit Program
Researching, managing and restoring wildlife are funded by your license dollars and by the Federal Aid in Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Program. Your purchases of hunting equipment, sporting firearms and ammunition make a difference to New Hampshire's wildlife resources and this state's way of life. Click here to learn more.