Welcome to NH Hunter Education!
Today's hunters are going into the field knowing how to hunt safely, responsibly and ethically. Coupled with the voluntary use of hunter orange clothing, Hunter Education has dramatically helped to reduce the number of hunting-related firearms incidents in the field.
By state law, anyone planning to buy a hunting, archery or trapping license must complete the respective hunter, bowhunter, or trapper education course, or show a previously issued license of the same type. Courses run from January through October, with many offered in the spring/summer. Don't wait until fall and possibly miss your chance to hunt! New courses are posted as they become available.
Owl Brook Hunter Education Center
Dedicated to educating people in the knowledge and skills needed to become safe and responsible hunters, trappers and stewards of the state's natural resources. CLICK HERE to learn more about Owl Brook..
FIND A CLASS - There are no available courses left for 2013. 2014 courses will start posting in January then throughout the year as they are scheduled with the Hunter Education Office. Get your course in early, don't wait till fall.
- Traditional Hunter Education Course CLICK HERE (will launch new window) to register for a Traditional Hunter Education Course. Pre-registration is REQUIRED and you MUST attend all course days scheduled. The course material is taught in a classroom setting, with the field portions, live fire and
The Online Hunter Education Course is no longer available for 2013, please check back in January 2014.
- Online Hunter Education Course and Field Day Schedule - The Online Hunter Education Course is for New Hampshire Residents ONLY. After completing the online course you MUST attend a Field Day scheduled specifically for the online course; you may not take portions of a Traditional Course. Students taking New Hampshire's online hunter safety course will experience a high-quality educational experience that is easy and fun. The online course is approved by the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department and contains the same materials taught in the classroom. Students must be at least 15 years or older to get their certification online.
Online Students: If you are already taking the online course and no longer have the URL address, email email@example.com or check the confirmation email sent to you when you registered.
To register for a Field Day: Field Days can fill quickly; completion of the online course does not guarantee you a spot at a Field Day.
- You must first successfully complete the online course. You will then recieve an email containing a unique hyperlink that will allow you to register for a Field Day. If you DO NOT have your login information, call Kalkomey Customer Support at (800) 830-2268 (9 a.m. - 6:30 p.m. EST) or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- If your Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate was lost, or you failed to print it out, you can get it replaced by calling Kalkomey at 1-800-830-2268. You MUST present your Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate to gain entry to a Field Day; no exceptions.
- If you fail to attend your scheduled Field Day, you will have to re-take the entire online Hunter Education Course (and pay the $15 charge for the online exam again) and re-register for another Field Day.
- Traditional Bowhunter Education Course CLICK HERE (will launch new window) to register for a Traditional Bowhunter Education Course. Pre-registration is REQUIRED. Important differences between hunting with a firearm and hunting with archery equipment make education vital to the future of bowhunting. This classroom-based course emphasizes safety, ethics and responsibility. Students discuss safety and ethical situations unique to bowhunting, and learn how archery techniques can differ from those used with firearms. Other topics in the 8 to 12-hour course include archery equipment, game anatomy, shot placement, tree stand safety, game recovery and more. Several of these topics are taught outdoors as well. Students must pass the written exam with a score of 80% or higher. There is no field test or shooting component to a bowhunter education course.
- Need to cancel out of a course or check your course information? CLICK HERE -- You will need your user name and password to log in.
- If you cannot remember your username or password, please call Kalkomey Customer Support at (800) 830-2268 (9am - 6:30pm EST)
- Traditional Trapper Education Course CLICK HERE to see the current Trapper Ed course schedule. Trapper education teaches participants how to responsibly trap furbearing animals. This course is also required to become a licensed Wildlife Control Officer. Topics in the 8 to 12-hour course include proper trapping equipment and use, responsible trap-setting, the importance of good wildlife management practices, and habits and traits of furbearers. Taught in a classroom as well as outside; see schedule for info. Students must pass the written exam with a score of 70% or higher.
The NH Fish and Game Department receives Federal Assistance from the US Fish and Wildlife Service, and thus prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age and sex, pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity or service, please contact or write the US Fish & Wildlife Service, Division of Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration, 4001 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR – 4020, Arlington, Virginia 22203, Attention: Civil Rights Coordinator for Public Programs.